Skip to main content

« Back

Blog

Fit for Fall - Staying Active & Healthy this Autumn

Fit for Fall - Staying Active & Healthy this Autumn

Sara Kuhns CPT

As the weather starts to cool down, we are all tempted to curl up inside, binge-watch some Netflix, and reach for that fall comfort food and glass of wine or pumpkin beer, which is okay sometimes! But not something that should be made into an everyday habit! Along with fall comes many opportunities to stay active and eat healthy so you'll be looking your best in time for those holiday parties (It's right around the corner!). The following are a few tips on living your healthiest life through the upcoming autumn months.

1. Scope Out Some New Hiking Trails

Fall always puts me in the mood to get outside and discover some new trails. All of the leaves changing colors and the crisp air makes for the best hiking weather. I've linked a few places around that you should check out!

https://clevelandmetroparks.com/parks/visit/parks/hinckley-reservation/hinckley-lake

http://www.holdenarb.org/

https://www.nps.gov/cuva/planyourvisit/hiking.htm

https://www.nps.gov/cuva/planyourvisit/ohio-and-erie-canal-towpath-trail.htm

https://www.summitmetroparks.org/fa-seiberling-nature-realm.aspx

2. Get Outside for Some Fall Activities

Who doesn't love to go to the pumpkin patch or apple picking? You'll get outside and get moving while also getting to pick your own pumpkins and apples that can be used for healthy fall recipes! Or grab a few friends and see if you can make your way through a cornmaze or play a game of flag football in the backyard. If you're more into thrills, spend a day at Cedar Point for HalloWeekends - you'll have fun on the roller coasters while also getting lots of walking in around the park!

3. Healthy Seasonal Recipes

Like I touched on in the last paragraph, take advantage of the seasonal foods that you can use for healthy fall recipes! I've linked a few different ones below:

Baked Apple Chips https://www.aspicyperspective.com/baked-apple-chips/

Butternut Squash Chili https://www.savorytooth.com/butternut-squash-chili/

Maple Pumpkin Trail Mix https://slimpickinskitchen.com/maple-pumpkin-fall-harvest-trail-mix-recipe/

Apple Peanut Butter Bars http://fuelingafitfam.com/2015/05/22/apple-peanut-butter-bars/

Sweet Potato Zucchini Casserole https://www.primaverakitchen.com/sweet-potato-zucchini-casserole/

Cinnamon Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Cranberries https://littlebitsof.com/2015/11/cinnamon-roasted-cranberries/

4. Sign Up for a Fall Race

Signing up for a 5k or 10k is a great way to keep yourself motivated to train and there are so many great fall and Halloween themed races this time of year! If you sign up for it, you have no excuse to slack off and they always end up being lots of fun!

5. Turn Outdoor Chores into a Workout

Turn you afternoon of raking leaves or mowing the lawn (with a push mower!) into your workout! It might not always be fun, but it's a great way to burn some extra calories.  

6. Stock Up on Some Warmer Workout Clothes

It's time to put away the shorts and tank tops and pull out the warm sweatpants, sweatshirts, and leggings. Buying some new workout clothes always helps to motivate me and now is the perfect time to pick up some new pieces with cooler weather approaching. 

Hope a few of these tips help get you prepped for the months ahead!

CLICK HERE TO REQUEST YOUR FREE INITIAL SESSION