Skip to main content

« Back

Food Pyramid Out, My Plate In

Jun 24, 2011

It is important to know which foods are good for you and what type of foods you need more of. Well, that is where the USDA comes into play. Before the recent changes we studied and learned about the Food Guide Pyramid and how to understand it and use it in our everyday lives. However, that has all changed now. So goodbye, pyramid. Hello, plate.

The Food Guide Pyramid was the model for healthy eating in the United States. But the USDA, the agency in charge of nutrition, has switched to a new symbol: a colorful plate —called MyPlate — with some of the same messages:

  • Eat a variety of foods.
  • Eat less of some foods and more of others.

The pyramid had six vertical stripes to represent the five food groups plus oils. The plate features four sections (vegetables, fruits, grains, and protein) plus a side order of dairy in blue. The big message is that fruits and vegetables take up half the plate, with the vegetable portion being a little bigger than the fruit section. And just like the pyramid where stripes were different widths, the plate has been divided so that the grain section is bigger than the protein section. Why? Because nutrition experts recommend you eat more vegetables than fruit and more grains than protein foods. The divided plate also aims to discourage super-big portions, which can cause weight gain. We here at Fitness Together think it is very important for you the population to remember the My Plate theory and practice it every day, so you can get those results that you have desired for you years. We want you to remember you can work your butt off at the gym, but without thoughtful and planned out eating it will be twice as hard to ever reach those goals. So always make the USDA's My Plate a basis on how you will plan your meals.


Schedule a complimentary fit evaluation so we can get to know you and your goals and build you a customized training program to reach them.